Access Keys:

Holy Family School, Cootehill, Co. Cavan

Level 1 Learning Programmes

The Level 1 Learning Programme was developed to provide a second level education and qualification to pupils with a severe/profound learning or low moderate disability. It is available to pupils 12yrs and up.

There are six Priority Learning Units (PLUs) at the heart of every L1LP. These PLUs explicitly identify and develop the key areas of learning needed to prepare the students for their future lives. Though presented as self-contained units when used as part of a learning programme these PLU’s interconnect and overlap.

  • Communication Language and Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Personal Care and Wellbeing
  • Being part of a Community
  • The Arts
  • Physical Education

Pupils will also complete two short courses over the three years.

Students are at the centre of teaching and learning, and will have an educational experience that addresses their individual needs and enables them to live, participate in, learn, work and contribute with the greatest degree of autonomy to the communities in which they belong.

L1LPs emphasise that learning for the students in question:

  • focuses on the student’s communication, cognitive, life and functional skills as well as sensory needs that underpin all future learning
  • must be meaningful and interesting for them, offering opportunities for them to build on what they can do rather than focusing on their disabilities
  • is planned through a holistic approach and takes account of students’ preferred sensory and learning channels and their ways of processing information

L1LP's are broadly aligned with Level 2 of the National Framework of Qualifications. Students undertaking L2LPs are awarded the Junior Cycle Profile of Achievement (JCPA)

You can find all you need to know about the L1LP here: